EPD - Beach Water Quality

Beach Water Quality in Hong Kong 2008

 

Our Mission:

To safeguard the health and welfare of the community and

meet conservation goals by working to achieve and maintain

the Water Quality Objective for bathing beaches

 

[Photo at the beach: Fun and exercise for all ages.]

 

 

Introduction

 

The objective of the Beach Water Quality Monitoring Programme is to monitor beach water quality and protect the health of the bathers.  The background and details of EPD’s monitoring activities can be found on the website.

 

[Photo of Blue sky, bright sunlight and clean water at Lower Cheung Sha Beach]

 

This report summarises the beach monitoring data collected in 2008, and the gradings of the beaches and their compliance with the Water Quality Objective (WQO).  In 2008, the EPD monitored 41 gazetted beaches and three non-gazetted beaches located in different parts of the territory.  The monitoring frequency was at least three times a month during the bathing season from March to October.  During monitoring, the EPD staff made field observations, took measurements such as water temperature and dissolved oxygen, and collected samples for further laboratory tests for the faecal bacteria E. coli and other water quality parameters (pH, salinity and turbidity).

 

Hong Kong’s beaches are assessed using a dual system: annual ranking and weekly grading based on the E. coli level in beach water, which indicates potential health risks associated with swimming.  The annual ranking reflects the overall water quality of the beach in the bathing season, while the weekly grading denotes the recent water quality of the beach.  Under the dual rating system, beaches are categorised into “Good”, “Fair”, “Poor” and “Very Poor”, and those ranked “Good” and “Fair” meet the WQO for bathing waters.

 

 

Annual Beach Ranking in 2008

 

The beach water quality in 2008 was generally good despite the summer being exceptionally wet, especially when compared with the particularly dry summer of 2007.  The rainfall of 2,940 mm during the bathing season from March to October 2008 was much higher than the 1,650 mm in the corresponding period in 2007.  It is worth-mentioning that the monthly total rainfall of 1,350 mm in June 2008 is a new monthly rainfall record for Hong Kong since record began in 1884.

 

As pointed out in our previous reports, heavy rainfall can lower beach water quality, in cases where it washes pollutants from beach hinterlands and causes septic tanks and soakaway sewerage systems to overflow and run into the sea.  Despite of the exceptionally high rainfall in 2008, most beaches remained open and water quality was by and large good.  Twenty-four (or 59%) out of 41 gazetted beaches were ranked as “Good”, slightly down from 25 last year.  Ten other beaches (24%) were ranked as “Fair”, seven (17%) as “Poor”, and none as “Very Poor”.  In terms of WQO compliance, thirty-four (or 83%) of the 41 gazetted beaches in Hong Kong complied with the WQO, the same as in the previous five years (2003 to 2007).

 

[Photo of Repulse Bay Beach offers respite from busy city life]

 

The beaches with “Good” water quality ranking were mainly located in the Southern District (Hong Kong Island South), Sai Kung area, and Outlying Islands.  Eleven out of 12 beaches in the Southern District were ranked as “Good” in 2008, only Big Wave Bay Beach was ranked as “Fair”.  Of the nine beaches monitored on the Outlying Islands, eight were “Good” while Silver Mine Bay Beach was rated as “Fair”.  The ranking of Pui O Beach improved from “Fair” in 2007 to “Good” in 2008.  The cleanest gazetted beach in Hong Kong in 2008 in terms of overall E. coli levels was Hung Shing Yeh Beach on Lamma Island.  In the Sai Kung area, five of the six beaches were “Good” with Silverstrand Beach being the only one ranked as “Fair”; however, the E. coli levels of this beach have been decreasing in the last few years, indicating a steady improvement in water quality.  On the western side, all six beaches along the Tuen Mun coast received a “Fair” ranking in 2008.  In the Tsuen Wan area, seven beaches had “Poor” water quality rankings and were closed to swimmers.  Ma Wan Tung Wan Beach ranked as “Fair” in 2008 and was the only beach open to the swimmers in the Tsuen Wan area.  The Government is currently taking active measures to improve the water quality of Tsuen Wan beaches.

 

The EPD also monitored three non-gazetted beaches in Hong Kong: Discovery Bay (a popular beach on Lantau Island), a sandy beach adjacent to Kiu Tsui Beach in Sai Kung, and a planned artificial beach in Lung Mei, Tai Po.  While Discovery Bay and the beach adjacent to Kiu Tsui Beach were ranked “Good” in 2008, Lung Mei was ranked “Poor”.  Drainage diversion and pollution control measures will be implemented to improve water quality in Lung Mei area in the coming few years.

 

To sum up, the broader picture of beach rankings has remained consistent over the past couple of years: the compliance of bathing WQO remains steady at 83%, and it has not been affected by the fluctuations of the exceptionally dry and wet summers of 2007 and 2008 respectively.  It demonstrates that continued improvements of sewage infrastructure and enforcement of environmental legislation have lessened the effect of polluted surface runoff on Hong Kong beaches even under heavy rain storms.

 

 

Weekly Beach Grading in 2008

 

The EPD issues weekly gradings for gazetted beaches which are open for swimming.  The information is disseminated to the public on the EPD’s website, the beach hotline, beach noticeboards and through weekly press releases.  The EPD’s website was significantly enhanced in 2008 to make it more user-friendly.

 

In 2008, the water quality of Southern District beaches was highly satisfactory.  All ten gazetted beaches received mainly “Good” or “Fair” gradings in the bathing season, except on a few occasions when Big Wave Bay, Deep Water Bay and Shek O Beaches were rated as “Poor” after heavy rain storms.  South Bay and Turtle Cove Beaches had the best water quality, achieving a “Good” grading in over 80% of the rating occasions.  The water quality of Sai Kung beaches was also very good.  Hap Mun Bay Beach achieved “Good” grading over 90% of the rating occasions, while the other beaches were mostly “Good” or “Fair”.  The water quality of the beaches in the Tuen Mun area was mostly graded as “Fair”.  The gradings of the only open beach in Tsuen Wan (Ma Wan Tung Wan Beach) were mostly maintained at “Fair”, while it occasionally also fluctuated between “Good” and “Poor”.  The beaches on the Outlying Islands were generally ideal for swimming, with Hung Shing Yeh Beach on Lamma Island having a “Good” grading over 95% of the rating occasions.

 

[Photo of aerial view of Hap Mun Bay Beach]

[Photo of aerial view of Lo So Shing Beach]

 

 

Water quality trend

 

There has been a steady improvement of beach water quality in Hong Kong in the last decade.  Out of the 41 gazetted beaches, those complying with the WQO have increased from 26 to 34 (63% to 83%) between 1997 and 2008.  In the same period, the number of “Good” beaches has more than doubled from 10 to 24.

 

Annual beach rankings of 1997 and 2008 compared

Year

WQO Compliant

WQO Non-compliant

Good

Fair

Poor

Very Poor

1997

24.4% (10)

39.0% (16)

29.3% (12)

7.3% (3)

2008

58.5% (24)

24.4% (10)

17.1% (7)

0% (0)

( ) No. of beaches

 

The overall WQO compliance rate has been maintained at above 80% since 1999.  The improvement made at Silver Mine Bay and Tuen Mun beaches was most noticeable as they have consistently complied with the WQO in recent years.  The improvement was attributed to the enforcement of environmental legislation, extension of the sewerage network and enhanced sewage treatment facilities in the beach hinterlands.

 

Water quality trend lines of individual beaches over the last two decades (since 1986 when the monitoring programme began) are also included in this report to show the changes over the years.  Background and details of the beach monitoring programme are available at the EPD’s website, and from the report “20 Years of Beach Water Quality Monitoring in Hong Kong” issued in 2006 (also accessible through the website).

 

 

Measures to improve Tsuen Wan Beaches

 

Seven gazetted beaches in Tsuen Wan remained closed to swimmers in 2008 due to poor water quality.  They were Anglers’, Approach, Casam, Gemini, Hoi Mei Wan, Lido and Ting Kau Beaches.  Their annual rankings remained the same as 2007, while the overall water quality in the area was still unsatisfactory.  The absence of beaches being rated as “Very Poor” in two consecutive bathing seasons was, however, an encouraging sign.  The poor water quality was due to pollution in the unsewered hinterlands and high background bacterial levels in the marine waters off Tsuen Wan coast.

 

To improve the water quality of Tsuen Wan beaches, the Government is implementing the next stage of the Harbour Area Treatment Scheme (HATS Stage 2A), and aims to disinfect effluent from the Stonecutters Island Sewage Treatment Works by the end of 2009.  Moreover, the extension of the public sewers and connections to unsewered villages along Castle Peak Road is on-going.  With the proposed sewerage works and continuous pollution control efforts, the water quality in the area is expected to improve substantially in the next few years.  This would pave the way for the re-opening of Tsuen Wan beaches to the public for swimming.

 

[Photo of Approach Beach along the Tsuen Wan coastline]

 


Beaches monitored by the EPD

Southern
District

Sai Kung
District

Tsuen Wan
District

Tuen Mun
District

Islands District

Tai Po
District

 

Deep Water Bay Repulse Bay

Middle Bay

South Bay

Chung Hom Kok St. Stephen's

Stanley Main Turtle Cove

Shek O

Big Wave Bay
Hairpin*
Rocky Bay*

 

Kiu Tsui

Hap Mun Bay

Trio

Silverstrand

Clear Water Bay First
Clear Water Bay
Second

Kiu Tsui (New)**





 

Ma Wan Tung Wan
Anglers'*
Gemini*
Hoi Mei Wan* Casam*
Lido*
Ting Kau* Approach*

 

Butterfly
Castle Peak Kadoorie Cafeteria Old Cafeteria New
Golden

 

Silver Mine Bay

Pui O
Lower Cheung Sha Upper Cheung Sha

Tong Fuk
Cheung Chau Tung Wan

Kwun Yam 
Hung Shing Yeh
Lo So Shing
Discovery Bay**

 

Lung Mei**

* Closed beaches

** Non-gazetted beaches

 

Beach monitoring frequencies

Beach

Monitoring frequency per month

Bathing season *

Non-bathing season

Gazetted beaches open all year round**

at least 3 times

at least 3 times

Other gazetted beaches

at least 3 times

once

Non-gazetted beaches

at least 3 times

once

*  March to October

** Clear Water Bay Second, Deep Water Bay, Golden and Silverstrand Beaches

 

[Image of overview of various stages of the Beach Monitoring Programme]

 

Hong Kong's annual beach ranking system

Rank

E. coli counts per 100 mL*

Minor illness rate**
(Cases per 1,000 swimmers)

WQO Compliance

Good

<=24

Undetectable

Compliant

Fair

25-180

<=10

Poor

181-610

11-15

Non-compliant

Very Poor

>610

>15

* Geometric mean E. coli count calculated based on all data collected between March and October.

** Skin and gastrointestinal illnesses

 

 

Hong Kong's weekly beach grading system

Grade

Beach water quality

E. coli counts per 100 mL*

Minor illness rate **
(Cases per 1,000 swimmers)

1

Good

<=24

Undetectable

2

Fair

25-180

<=10

3

Poor

181-610

11-15

4

Very Poor

>610
or last reading >1,600

>15

* Unless otherwise indicated, the E. coli count represents the geometric mean of the 5 most recent sampling occasions.

** Skin and gastrointestinal illnesses

 

 

The 2008 Findings

 

Hong Kong’s gazetted beaches – 2008 annual ranking

Beach grading summary by district in 2008

 

 

Ranking and Grading Summary (in 2008 Bathing Season)

 

Southern District beaches

Sai Kung beaches

Tsuen Wan and Tuen Mun beaches

Outlying Islands beaches

 

 

Long-term Trend (1997 – 2008)

 

Annual beach rankings from 1997 to 2008

Annual beach ranking of 1997 and 2008 compared

Compliance with the Water Quality Objective at gazetted beaches, 1997-2008

Annual geometric mean E. coil levels by district. 1997-2008

 

 

Appendices

 

Appendix A - Annual geometric mean E. coli levels (1997 – 2008)

Appendix B - Beach visitor numbers, 2008

Appendix C - Physicochemical water quality data of gazetted beaches, 2008

Appendix D – Images of Long-term trend of beach water quality (1986 – 2008)

 

[Back to top]

環境保護署 - 泳灘水質

 

香港泳灘水質2008

 

我們的使命:

保障公眾的健康褔祉,悉力達到和
維持泳灘水質指標,實現環境護理目標。

 

[圖片 : 泳灘是男女老少玩樂和健身的好地方]

 

緒言

 

實施泳灘監測計劃的目的是監測泳灘水質和保障泳客的健康。有關環保署監測工作的背景和詳情,請瀏覽環保署網頁

 

[圖片 : 下長沙泳灘的美麗景色 藍天碧海、陽光普照]

 

本報告撮錄了2008年所收集的泳灘監測數據,評定泳灘的級別,以及評核泳灘的水質是否達標。2008年,環保署監察了分布在全港不同地點的41個憲報公布泳灘和3個非憲報公布的泳灘。在三月至十月的泳季期間,環保署每月在這些泳灘進行最少三次水質監測,包括實地觀察和量度水溫、溶解氧等,並收集水樣本,供化驗室進一步量度水中的大腸桿菌含量和其他水質參數(即酸鹼值、鹽度和混濁度)。

 

香港採用雙重泳灘評級制度:根據海水中的大腸桿菌含量評定泳灘的「全年級別」和「每周等級」。大腸桿菌的含量可反映水質會否對泳客健康構成風險。「全年級別」反映泳灘在整個泳季的水質狀況,而「每周等級」則顯示泳灘近期的水質狀況。現行的雙重評級制度將泳灘分為「良好」、「一般」、「欠佳」和「極差」四級,水質「良好」或「一般」的泳灘即達到水質指標。

 

2008年泳灘全年級別

 

與較為乾旱的2007年相比,2008年的夏天雨水甚多。儘管如此,2008年的泳灘水質卻普遍良好。在3月至10月的泳季期間,香港的降雨量為2,940毫米,較2007年同期所錄得的1,650毫米有顯著的增加。值得注意的是,20086月的降雨量為1,350毫米,是香港自1884年有降雨量記錄以來所錄得最高記錄。

 

正如我們在以往的報告中所指出,大量雨水可降低泳灘水質,因為雨水可令泳灘腹地的化糞池和滲水管系統滿溢,並導致污染物流入海裏。雖然2008年降雨量極多,但大部分泳灘仍然維持開放,而且水質大致良好。在41個憲報公布的泳灘中,有24個(59%)屬於「良好」級別,較去年的25個略低。此外,有10個(24%)泳灘屬於「一般」級別,7個(17%)屬於「欠佳」級別,但沒有泳灘屬於「極差」級別。另外, 41個憲報公布的泳灘中有34個(83%)達到水質指標,與過去五年(2003年至2007年)相同。

 

[圖片 : 淺水灣的弄潮兒 偷得浮生半日閒]

 

水質「良好」的泳灘主要位於南區(港島南區)、西貢及離島。2008年,在南區的12個泳灘中,11個屬「良好」級別,只有大浪灣泳灘獲評為「一般」級別。在離島9個受監測的泳灘中,8個屬「良好」級別,而銀礦灣泳灘則屬「一般」級別。貝澳泳灘由2007年的「一般」級別升為2008年的「良好」級別。以整體大腸桿菌含量計算,香港最好的憲報公布泳灘是南丫島的洪聖爺灣泳灘。西貢區6個泳灘中,5個為「良好」級別,只有銀線灣泳灘獲評為「一般」級別。不過,近年銀線灣泳灘的大腸桿菌含量持續下降,顯示其水質正逐漸改善。至於本港西面,屯門沿岸的6個泳灘均屬「一般」級別。荃灣區有7個泳灘的水質級別屬「欠佳」,需要關閉。而馬灣東灣泳灘則屬「一般」級別,是區內唯一開放給公眾游泳的泳灘。目前政府正採取 積極措施,以改善荃灣區泳灘的水質

 

環保署亦監測3個非憲報公布的泳灘,包括位於大嶼山頗受歡迎的愉景灣、西貢毗連橋咀泳灘的一個沙灘,以及一個位於大埔龍尾正在計劃中的人工泳灘。2008年,愉景灣和毗連橋咀泳灘的泳灘獲評為「良好」級別,而龍尾則獲評為「欠佳」級別。在未來數年,政府將改善龍尾一帶的污水收集系統,並繼續採取污染管制措施以改善龍尾的水質。

 

概括而言,過去數年本港泳灘級別的情況大致維持不變。泳灘水質的達標率穩定地維持在83%,並沒有因氣候的變化(2007年夏天特別乾旱和2008年夏季降雨量特多)而受到顯著的波動或影響。這反映隨著政府不斷改善污水處理設施和執行環境保護法例,即使在暴雨期間泳灘水質受地面徑流的影響亦已逐漸減少。

 

 

2008年每周泳灘等級

 

環保署通過環保署網頁、泳灘電話熱線、泳灘告示板和每周發放的新聞稿,發放憲報公布泳灘的每周等級,讓市民得悉最新的泳灘水質情況。環保署泳灘水質網頁於2008年作出了明顯的改進,更方便市民瀏覽。

 

2008年泳季期間,南區各泳灘的水質令人極為滿意。除了有大浪灣泳灘、深水灣泳灘及石澳泳灘在暴雨後有數次獲評為「欠佳」等級外,所有10個憲報公布泳灘的水質均錄得「良好」或「一般」等級。其中,南灣泳灘和龜背灣泳灘的水質最佳,在所有評級的次數中,超過80%為「良好」等級。西貢各泳灘的水質亦極佳,廈門灣泳灘在所有評級的次數中,有超過90% 獲得「良好」等級,而其他泳灘則主要是在「良好」或「一般」等級。屯門區泳灘的水質多屬「一般」等級。荃灣唯一開放的馬灣東灣泳灘的水質多數維持在「一般」等級,但偶然也會錄得「良好」與「欠佳」等級。離島各泳灘水質普遍理想,其中南丫島的洪聖爺灣泳灘在所有評級次數中,有超過95% 獲得「良好」等級。

 

[圖片 : 廈門灣泳灘的鳥瞰圖]

[圖片 : 蘆鬚城泳灘的鳥瞰圖]

 

水質趨勢

 

過去十多年,香港的泳灘水質已逐漸改善。憲報公布的41個泳灘中,達到水質指標的泳灘數目已由1997年的26個(63%)增至 2008年的34個(83%)。同一期間,屬「良好」級別的泳灘數目增加超過一倍,由10個增至24個。

 

1997年及2008年泳灘全年級別比較

年份

符合水質指標

不符合水質指標

良好

一般

欠佳

極差

1997

24.4% (10)

39.0% (16)

29.3% (12)

7.3% (3)

2008

58.5% (24)

24.4% (10)

17.1% (7)

0% (0)

( ) 泳灘數目

 

自1999年起,泳灘的整體達標率一直維持在80% 以上。銀礦灣泳灘和屯門各泳灘近年持續達到水質指標,水質改善情況最為顯著。這是政府執行環保法例、擴建污水渠網絡和改善泳灘腹地的污水處理設施所致。

 

本報告亦包括過去二十多年(自泳灘監測計劃於1986年實施以來)個別泳灘的水質趨勢圖以顯示期間的變化。至於泳灘監測計劃的背景及詳情,則可瀏覽環保署網頁,以及於2006年出版的《 香港泳灘水質監測20年》報告(亦載於 環保署網頁)。

 

改善荃灣各泳灘的措施

 

2008年,荃灣7個憲報公布的泳灘由於水質欠佳而繼續關閉。該7個泳灘為釣魚灣泳灘、近水灣泳灘、更生灣泳灘、雙仙灣泳灘、海美灣泳灘、麗都灣泳灘及汀九灣泳灘。這些泳灘的全年級別與2007年相同(即7個泳灘的水質級別均屬「欠佳」),該區的整體水質狀況仍然未能令人滿意。不過,該區連續兩個泳季未有泳灘被評為「極差」級別,顯示水質已有稍微改善的跡象。而該區水質欠佳是由於受到尚未有污水設施腹地的污染,以及荃灣近岸海水的含菌量偏高所致。

 

為改善荃灣區泳灘的水質,政府正實施下一階段的淨化海港計劃( 淨化海港計劃第二期甲),並旨在2009年年底前為昂船洲污水處理廠的污水進行消毒處理。此外,擴建公共污水渠工程(包括把渠管接駁至青山公路一帶未有污水設施的鄉村)仍在進行中。這些污水收集及處理工程,以及政府持續進行的污染監控工作,預計可在未來數年內大幅改善該區的水質,令該區泳灘可早日重新開放供市民使用。

 

[圖片 : 沿荃灣海岸線的近水灣泳灘]

環保署監測的泳灘

南區

西貢區

荃灣區

屯門區

離島區

大埔區

深水灣
淺水灣
中灣
南灣
舂坎角
聖士提反灣
赤柱正灘
龜背灣
石澳
大浪灣
夏萍灣*
石澳後灘*

橋咀
廈門灣
三星灣
銀線灣
清水灣第一灣
清水灣第二灣
新橋咀**

馬灣東灣
釣魚灣*
雙仙灣*
海美灣*
更生灣*
麗都灣*
汀九灣*
近水灣*

蝴蝶灣
青山灣
加多利灣
舊咖啡灣
新咖啡灣
黃金泳灘

銀礦灣
貝澳
下長沙
上長沙
塘福
長洲東灣
觀音灣
洪聖爺灣
蘆鬚城
愉景灣**

龍尾**

* 已關閉泳灘
** 非刊憲泳灘

 

泳灘監測次數

泳灘

每月監測次數

泳季*

非泳季

全年開放的憲報公布泳灘**

最少三次

最少三次

其他憲報公布泳灘

最少三次

一次

非憲報公布泳灘

最少三次

一次

* 3月至10月
** 清水灣第二灣、深水灣、黃金及銀線灣泳灘

 [圖片 - 泳灘水質監測計劃運作概要]

 

本港泳灘的全年級別制度

級別

每百毫升大腸桿菌數量*

輕微疾病率**
(每千名泳客感染個案)

符合水質指標

良好

<=24

不能驗出

符合

一般

25-180

<=10

欠佳

181-610

11-15

不符合

極差

>610

>15

*以3至10月泳季期間收集到的所有數據計算出的大腸桿菌幾何平均值
**皮膚及腸胃病

 

本港泳灘的每周等級制度

等級

泳灘水質

每百毫升大腸桿菌數量*

輕微疾病率**
(每千名泳客感染個案)

一級

良好

<=24

不能驗出

二級

一般

25-180

<=10

三級

欠佳

181-610

11-15

四級

極差

>610
或最近一次讀數 >1,600

>15

*除另有闡釋外,大腸桿菌數量是最近五次水樣本的大腸桿菌幾何平均值。
**皮膚及腸胃病

 2008年概覽

本港的憲報公布泳灘 - 2008年全年級別

2008年香港各區泳灘的等級概覽

 

全年級別與每周等級摘要 (於2008年泳季期間)

南區的泳灘

西貢區的泳灘

荃灣及屯門區的泳灘

離島區的泳灘

 

水質趨勢 (1997 – 2008)

1997年至2008年泳灘的全年級別

1997年及2008年泳灘全年級別比較

憲報公布泳灘在1997年至2008年符合水質指標的百分比

在1997年至2008年度各區泳灘的大腸桿菌全年幾何平均值

 

附錄

附錄甲 - 大腸桿含量的全年幾何平均值 (1997 - 2008)

附錄乙 - 2008年遊客數目

附錄丙 - 2008年憲報公布泳灘的物理化學水質參數

附錄丁 - 圖片 - 過去二十三年各區泳灘的水質趨勢圖

 

[返 回 頁 首]
pt 0cm 1.4pt;height:15.75pt;">

年份

符合水質指標