EPD - Beach Water Quality

 

Beach Water Quality in Hong Kong 2016

Our Mission:

To safeguard the health and welfare of the community and meet conservation goals by working to achieve and maintain the Water Quality Objective for bathing beaches

[Photo: The coastline of Hong Kong was embellished with white sand and clear water beaches

Introduction

Hong Kong boasts beautiful beaches with fine sands and clean water along its extended coastline. These beaches attract millions of beach-goers to enjoy their seaside leisure time every month during the summer.

The objective of the Environmental Protection Department (EPD)'s Beach Water Quality Monitoring Programme is to monitor beach water quality and protect the health of bathers. This report summarises the beach monitoring data collected in 2016, the gradings of the beaches and the annual compliance with the Water Quality Objective (WQO) for bathing beaches.

[Photo: Charming beaches for bathers to enjoy their leisure time]

In 2016, the EPD monitored 41 gazetted beaches and three non-gazetted beaches in different parts of the territory. The gazetted beaches were monitored weekly during the bathing season from March to October, and EPD staff conducted field observations and collected samples for laboratory analyses of Escherichia coli (E. coli) as the bacteriological water quality indicator. EPD staff also took measurements of dissolved oxygen, pH, salinity, temperature and turbidity of beach water.

[Photo: EPD staff conducting water sampling and field data recording]

[Photo: Analysis of beach bacteriological water quality at EPD's environmental microbiology laboratory]

Hong Kong's beaches are assessed using a dual system: annual ranking and weekly grading which are both based on the E. coli level in beach water to indicate potential health risks associated with swimming. The annual ranking reflects the overall water quality of the beach over the entire bathing season, while the weekly grading denotes the recent water quality of the beach. Under the dual rating system, beaches are categorised into "Good", "Fair", "Poor" and "Very Poor". Those ranked "Good" or "Fair" meet the WQO for bathing waters.

[Photo: Water quality grading board displayed at the gazetted beaches]

Annual Beach Ranking in 2016

All 41 gazetted beaches in Hong Kong complied with the WQO in 2016. Compared with the ranking in 2015, the number of beaches ranked as "Good" has decreased from 25 (or 61 %) to 18 (or 44 %) and the number of beaches ranked as "Fair" has changed from 16 (or 39%) to 23 (or 56%). This was mainly due to the combined effects of more rainfall and less bright sunshine in the bathing season of 2016. The cumulative rainfall recorded in the bathing season of 2016 was 17% higher than the average in the past 30 years (1986 - 2015) while the number of bright sunshine hours was 13% lower than that in the same period. Although the annual ranking of seven beaches have changed from "Good" to "Fair" in 2016, the changes in E. coli levels were within the normal range of fluctuation of the bacteriological water quality and had no overall adverse impact on the health of swimmers. No beach was ranked as "Poor" or "Very Poor" in 2016.

[Photo: The tranquil Tong Fuk Beach in Lantau Island]

The beaches with "Good" water quality ranking were located in the Southern (Hong Kong Island South), Islands and Sai Kung Districts. Nine of the 12 beaches in the Southern District were ranked as "Good" in 2016, including Chung Hom Kok Beach, Deep Water Bay Beach, Hairpin Beach, Middle Bay Beach, Repulse Bay Beach, South Bay Beach, St. Stephen's Beach, Stanley Main Beach and Turtle Cove Beach. Shek O Beach and Rocky Bay Beach continued to receive a "Fair" ranking, while the ranking of Big Wave Bay Beach has changed from "Good" to "Fair". Of the nine beaches on the Outlying Islands, six were ranked as "Good", including Cheung Chau Tung Wan Beach, Hung Shing Yeh Beach, Kwun Yam Beach, Lo So Shing Beach, Tong Fuk Beach and Upper Cheung Sha Beach. Silver Mine Bay Beach remained to be ranked as "Fair", while Lower Cheung Sha Beach and Pui O Beach have changed from "Good" to "Fair". Three of the six beaches in Sai Kung District were rated as "Good" in 2016 including Hap Mun Bay Beach, Kiu Tsui Beach and Trio Beach, while Clear Water Bay First Beach, Clear Water Bay Second Beach and Silverstrand Beach have changed from "Good" to "Fair". On the western side, all eight beaches in Tsuen Wan District and all six beaches in Tuen Mun District received a "Fair" ranking in 2016, among them Ma Wan Tung Wan Beach has changed from "Good" to "Fair".

[Photo: Dynamic and lively Shek O Beach on a beautiful sunny day ]

The water quality of Tsuen Wan beaches continued to be satisfactory and suitable for swimming after the commissioning of Harbour Area Treatment Scheme Stage 2A in December 2015. The seven beaches along Castle Peak Road had once been closed due to poor water quality before 2010. Since the completion of sewerage along Castle Peak Road in the beach hinterland and the commissioning of the Advanced Disinfection Facilities of the Harbour Area Treatment Scheme in March 2010, the water quality of these seven beaches has improved and met the WQO for bathing beaches. This has led to the gradual re-opening of all these beaches during 2011 - 2014 and maintained open since then.

[Photo: The relaxing Ma Wan Tung Wan Beach]

EPD also monitored three non-gazetted beaches in Hong Kong: Discovery Bay (a popular beach in Lantau Island), a sandy beach adjacent to Kiu Tsui Beach in Sai Kung, and a planned artificial beach in Lung Mei, Tai Po. In 2016, Discovery Bay has changed from "Good" to "Fair", largely due to occasional deterioration in water quality after heavy rain. The beach adjacent to Kiu Tsui Beach continued to be ranked as "Good", and Lung Mei as "Fair". Most of the village houses in the Lung Mei area have been connected to the public sewerage network, and the remaining connection work is still ongoing. Together with the pollution abatement measures to be implemented, the water quality at Lung Mei will continue to improve.

Weekly Beach Grading in 2016

To keep the public informed of the latest beach water quality condition, the EPD issues weekly gradings of all open gazetted beaches and one non-gazetted beach (i.e. Discovery Bay) through weekly press release, EPD's websites, the beach enquiry hotline, GeoInfo Map of the GovHK website and noticeboards at the beaches.

[Photo: South Bay Beach embraced by green mountains]

In 2016, the water quality of beaches in the Southern District was largely satisfactory. All ten open gazetted beaches received "Good" or "Fair" grading most of the time in the bathing season. Deep Water Bay Beach and Middle Bay Beach were once rated as "Very Poor" in early September and late July respectively after heavy rain, while Big Wave Bay Beach was rated as "Very Poor" in mid-June due to a series of rain events. South Bay Beach had the best water quality, achieving "Good" grading 97% of the occasions.

The beaches on the Outlying Islands generally had decent water quality. Hung Shing Yeh Beach and Upper Cheung Sha Beach achieved "Good" grading on all rating occasions, while Cheung Chau Tung Wan Beach, Kwun Yam Beach, Lo So Shing Beach and Tong Fuk Beach were graded as "Good" over 90% of the time. Lower Cheung Sha Beach was rated as "Very Poor" twice in early May and early August respectively after heavy rain. After Silver Mine Bay Beach was rated as "Poor" or "Very Poor" in the rainy month of April, its water quality continued to improve starting from early summer, and was rated as "Good" toward the end of the bathing season.

[Photo: Trio Beach - an escape from the hustle and bustle of the city]

The Sai Kung beaches were generally suitable for swimming, mainly with "Good" or "Fair" weekly grading. Clear Water Bay First Beach, Clear Water Bay Second Beach and Silverstrand Beach were rated as "Very Poor" on one to three occasions, which were mostly associated with heavy rain. Hap Mun Bay Beach had the best water quality achieving "Good" grading on all rating occasions.

The water quality of the beaches in Tuen Mun area was comparable to that in the previous years, with usually "Good" or "Fair" weekly grading. Butterfly Beach was graded as "Very Poor" on three occasions in July after heavy rain, and improved to "Fair" grading since mid-August.

The water quality of the beaches in Tsuen Wan was mostly satisfactory. Ma Wan Tung Wan Beach was either rated as "Good" or "Fair" grading. The other Tsuen Wan Beaches maintained mostly at "Fair" grading, in which Casam Beach, Hoi Mei Wan Beach and Lido Beach were improved to "Good" grading toward the end of the bathing season. Ting Kau Beach was once rated as "Very Poor" after heavy rain in mid-August.

[Photo: Casam Beach - water quality steadily improving in recent years]

Water Quality Trend

The beach water quality in Hong Kong is able to fully comply with the WQO, and suitable for swimming, for the last seven years. The percentage of beaches complying with the WQO had changed from 74% in 1986 (29 of 39 beaches) to 63% (26 of 41 beaches) in 1997, and then increased to 100% since 2010 for all 41 gazetted beaches.

Comparison of annual beach ranking of gazetted beaches in 1986, 1997 and 2016

Year

WQO Compliant

WQO Non-compliant

Good

Fair

Poor

Very Poor

1986

23.1%(9)

51.3%(20)

17.9%(7)

7.7%(3)

1997

24.4% (10)

39.0% (16)

29.3% (12)

7.3% (3)

2016

43.9%(18)

56.1%(23)

-

-

( ) No. of beaches

Note: Two Beaches degazetted in 1995 were excluded from all the statistics above.

Back in the 1980s, many beaches were closed, such as Cafeteria Old Beach, Castle Peak Beach and Silver Mine Bay Beach, or on the verge of being closed (e.g. Middle Bay Beach and Repulse Bay Beach) due to poor water quality. There was a further drop in compliance rate in the mid-1990s due to population growth particularly in the new town areas. In the last decade, there has been progressive improvement as a result of enforcement of environmental legislation, extension of the sewerage network, provision of new sewage treatment facilities across the territory including the beach hinterland, as well as implementation of the Harbour Area Treatment Scheme. Major improvement measures implemented in the past are summarized in the following table.


Major improvement measures for the beaches since the implementation of beach water quality monitoring programme in 1986

1986 – 1990

Beaches with Water
Quality Improvement
Implementation of the Livestock Waste Control Scheme under the Waste Disposal (Livestock Waste) Regulation. Most beaches, particularly Silver Mine Bay Beach
Declaration of the Southern Water Control Zone (WCZ) under the Water Pollution Control Ordinance (WPCO) for legislative enforcement. Southern beaches

Interception and diversion of polluted storm drains at beaches in Southern District.

Southern beaches

1991- 1995

 
Implementation of chemical waste control. All beaches
Declaration of the North Western WCZ under the WPCO for legislative enforcement. Tuen Mun beaches
Diversion of polluted storm water drains away from Castle Peak Beach. Castle Peak Beach
Provision of public sewers for So Kwun Wat and Sam Shing Estate. Tuen Mun Beaches

Commissioning of Stanley Sewage Treatment Works (STW).

Stanley Main Beach

1996 - 2000

 
Full implementation of the WPCO in all WCZs. All beaches
Commissioning of the Shek O Sewage Screening Plant and diversion of polluted storm water drains at Shek O Village. Shek O Beach
Completion of all major works under Southern Sewerage Master Plan. Southern beaches

Commissioning of the new 2 km long Pillar Point sewage submarine outfall.

Tuen Mun beaches

2001 - 2005

 
Completion of Harbour Area Treatment Scheme Stage 1. Big Wave Bay, Shek O, Rocky Bay Beaches
Provision of public sewers in the Silverstrand area. Silverstrand Beach

Full operation of the Sham Tseng STW.

Beaches along the Tsuen Wan coast

2006 - 2016

 
Commissioning of the Advance Disinfection Facilities at Stonecutters Island STW. All Tsuen Wan beaches
Extension of the public sewerage network to the beach hinterland along Castle Peak Road. Beaches along the Tsuen Wan coast

Full operation of the Harbour Area Treatment Scheme (HATS) Stage 2A.

Beaches along the Tsuen Wan coast

Through continuous efforts of the government to implement pollution abatement measures, there was significant improvement in water quality at the beaches in various districts over the years, and the beaches have consistently complied with the WQO in recent years. With significant improvement of water quality at beaches in Tsuen Wan since 2010, all of Hong Kong's gazetted beaches have now achieved the required standard for swimming for the seventh consecutive year.

Compliance with WQO at gazetted beaches, 1997 - 2016

[Figure: Compliance with WQO at gazetted beaches, 1997 - 2015]

Water quality trend lines of gazetted beaches over the last 31 years are included in this report to show the changes over the years. More in-depth background and details of the beach monitoring programme are available at the EPD's Hong Kong Water Quality Resource Centre thematic website (http://wqrc.epd.gov.hk) or its beach water quality thematic website (http://www.beachwq.gov.hk), which provides user-friendly access to the annual beach reports as well as data published since 2000.

[Photos: Happy youngsters having fun at the beach]

The Monitoring Programme

Beaches monitored by the EPD

Southern
District

Sai Kung
District

Tsuen Wan
District

Tuen Mun
District

Islands District

Tai Po
District

Deep Water Bay
Repulse Bay
Middle Bay
South Bay
Chung Hom Kok
St. Stephen's
Stanley Main
Hairpin
Turtle Cove
Shek O
Rocky Bay
Big Wave Bay

Kiu Tsui
Hap Mun Bay
Trio
Silverstrand
Clear Water Bay First
Clear Water Bay Second
Kiu Tsui (New)**

Ma Wan Tung Wan
Anglers'
Gemini
Hoi Mei Wan
Casam
Lido
Ting Kau
Approach

Butterfly
Castle Peak
Kadoorie
Cafeteria Old
Cafeteria New
Golden

Silver Mine Bay
Pui O
Lower Cheung Sha
Upper Cheung Sha
Tong Fuk
Cheung Chau Tung Wan
Kwun Yam
Hung Shing Yeh
Lo So Shing
Discovery Bay**

Lung Mei**

 

** Non-gazetted beaches

 

Beach monitoring frequency

Beach

Monitoring frequency per month

Bathing season *

Non-bathing season

Gazetted beaches open all year round**

at least 3 times

at least 3 times

Other gazetted beaches

at least 3 times

once

Non-gazetted beaches

at least 3 times

once

*  March to October

** Clear Water Bay Second, Deep Water Bay, Golden and Silverstrand Beaches

 

Overview of various stages of the Beach Monitoring Programme

[Image of overview of various stages of the Beach Monitoring Programme]

 

Hong Kong's annual beach ranking system

Rank

E. coli counts per 100 mL*

Minor illness rate**
(Cases per 1,000 swimmers)

WQO Compliance

Good

<=24

Undetectable

Compliant

Fair

25-180

<=10

Poor

181-610

11-15

Non-compliant

Very Poor

>610

>15

* Geometric mean E. coli count calculated based on all data collected between March and October.

** Skin and gastrointestinal illnesses

Hong Kong's weekly beach grading system

Grade

Beach water quality

E. coli counts per 100 mL*

Minor illness rate **
(Cases per 1,000 swimmers)

1

Good

<=24

Undetectable

2

Fair

25-180

<=10

3

Poor

181-610

11-15

4

Very Poor

>610
or last reading >1,600

>15

* Unless otherwise indicated, the E. coli count represents the geometric mean of the 5 most recent sampling occasions.

** Skin and gastrointestinal illnesses

The 2016 Findings

2016 Annual ranking and bathing season geometric mean E. coli levels of Hong Kong's gazatted beaches

Annual ranking of gazetted beaches at a glance in 2016

Weekly beach grading summary of open gazetted beaches by district in 2016

Southern District beaches

Sai Kung beaches

Tsuen Wan beaches

Tuen Mun beaches

Outlying Islands beaches

Water Quality Trend

Annual beach rankings of gazetted beaches from 1986 to 2016

Comparsion of annual beach ranking of gazetted beaches in 1986 and 2016

Annual geometric mean E. coil levels of gazetted beaches by district, 1997-2016

Appendices

Appendix A - Annual geometric mean E. coli levels (1997 – 2016)

Appendix B - 2016 Beach visitor number

Appendix C - Physicochemical water quality data for gazetted beaches, 2016

Appendix D – Images of Long-term trend of beach water quality (1986 – 2016)

 

[Back to top]

环境保护署 - 泳滩水质

 

香港泳滩水质2016

我们的使命:

保障公众的健康褔祉,悉力达到和维持泳滩水质指标,实现环境护理目标。

[照片: 水清沙幼的泳滩点缀着香港的海岸线]

绪言 

香港海岸线连绵不断,遍布景色优美、水清沙幼的泳滩。在夏季,这些泳滩每月吸引数以百万计的泳客前来享受海滨闲暇。

实施泳滩监测计划的目的是监测泳滩水质和保障泳客的健康。本报告撮录了 2016年所收集的泳滩监测数据,评定泳滩的级别,以及评核泳滩的水质是否合乎水质指标。

[照片: 众多迷人的泳滩可供泳客享受悠闲时光]

2016年,环保署监察了分布在全港不同地点的41个宪报公布的泳滩和3个非宪报公布的泳滩。在三月至十月的泳季期间,环保署每周一次在这些宪报公布的泳滩进行水质监测,包括实地观察和收集水样本供化验室分析作为微生物参数的大肠杆菌的含量。环保署亦量度泳滩水体的溶解氧、酸碱值、盐度、温度和混浊度。

[照片: 环保署人员在泳滩实地抽取海水样本及量度现场数据]

[照片: 环保署环境微生物实验室的泳滩细菌水质分析]

香港采用双重泳滩评级制度:根据海水中的大肠杆菌含量评定泳滩的「全年级别」和「每周等级」。 大肠杆菌的含量可反映水质会否对泳客健康构成风险。「全年级别」反映泳滩在整个泳季的水质状 况,而「每周等级」则显示泳滩近期的水质状况。现行的双重评级制度将泳滩分为「良好」、「一 般」、「欠佳」和「极差」四级。水质「良好」或「一般」的泳滩即达到水质指标。

[照片: 展示于宪报公布泳滩的水质等级告示板]

2016年泳滩全年级别

香港41个宪报公布的泳滩在2016年全都达到水质指标。与2015年的级别相比,属于「良好」级别的泳滩由25个(即61%)减至18个(即 44%),而被评为「一般」的泳滩则由原来的16个(即39%)变为23个(即56%)。这个改变主要由于 2016年泳季的雨量较往年增加,以及日照时数减少所带来的复合效应。2016年泳季的累积雨量较过去30年(1986-2015)的平均值多17%,而日照时数则较相同时段少 13%。虽然2016年共有7个泳滩的等级由「良好」变为「一般」,该水质的变化都在正常波幅范围之内,总体而言对泳客的健康没有不良影响。2016年并没有泳滩属于「欠佳」或「极差」级别。

[照片: 大屿山宁静的塘福泳滩]

水质「良好」的泳滩位于南区(港岛南)、离岛区及西贡区。南区12个泳滩 中,9个于2016年被评为「良好」级别,包括舂坎角、深水湾、夏萍湾、 中湾、浅水湾、南湾、圣士提反湾、赤柱正滩及龟背湾泳滩。石澳泳滩及石澳后滩泳滩维持在「一般」级别,大浪湾泳滩则由「良好」变为「一般」级别。離岛9个泳滩中,6个属「良好」级别,包括长洲东湾、洪圣爷湾、观音湾、芦须城、塘福及上长沙泳滩。银矿湾泳滩保持「一般」级别,而下长沙泳滩及贝澳泳滩由「良好」变为「一般」级别。6个西贡区泳滩中,3个属「良好」级别,包括厦门湾、桥咀及三星湾泳滩。而清水湾第一湾泳滩、清水湾第二湾泳滩及银线湾泳滩由「良好」变为「一般」级别。位处本港西面的8个荃湾泳滩及6个屯门泳滩均属「一般」级别,当中马湾东湾泳滩由「良好」变为「一 般」级别。

[照片: 阳光下充满活力的石澳泳滩]

荃湾泳滩在「净化海港计划第二期 甲」于2015年12月全面启用之后,继续保持令人满意的水质并适宜游泳。在2010年之前,荃湾青山公路沿岸的7个泳滩曾因水质变差而暂时关闭。随着青山公路沿岸泳滩腹地的污水渠系统完成敷设,及昂船洲污水处理厂的前期消毒设施于2010年3月起顺利运作,这7个泳滩的水质得以改善且符合泳滩水质指标,并于2011-2014年间陆续重新开放至今。

[照片: 惬意的马湾东湾泳滩]

环保署亦监测3个非宪报公布的泳滩,包括位于大屿山颇受欢迎的愉景湾、西贡毗連桥咀泳滩的一个沙滩,以及一个位于大埔龍尾正在规划中的人工泳滩。愉景湾在2016年因大雨导致水质短暂转差,由「良好」变为「一般」级别。毗連桥咀滩的泳滩继续获评为「良好」级别,而龍尾亦保持在「一般」级别。龙尾一带大部分的村屋已分阶段接驳到公共污水渠网络,余下少量村屋的接驳工程仍在进行中。配合污染消减措施的实施,龙尾水质将进一步得到改善。

2016年每周泳滩等级

环保署通过每周发放的新闻稿、环保署网站、泳滩电话热线、「香港政府一站通」网站的「地理信息地图」和泳滩告示板,发放宪报公布开放泳滩及一个非宪报公布泳滩(愉景湾)的每周等级,让市民得悉最新的泳滩水质情况。

[照片: 翠绿群山环抱的南湾泳滩]

南区泳滩的水质在2016年整体令人满 意。所有10个开放给市民游泳的宪报公布泳滩在泳季大部分时间录得「良好」或「一般」等级。当中深水湾泳滩及中湾泳滩曾分别于九月初及七月底因大雨而各被评为「极差」等级一次;至于大浪湾泳滩则曾于六月中旬,在连场暴雨后被评为「极差」等级。南湾泳滩的水质最佳,97%的每周评级为「良好」。

離岛各泳滩水质普遍优良。洪圣爷泳滩及上长沙泳滩于整季的每周评级均为「良好」;而长洲东湾泳滩、观音湾泳滩、芦须城泳滩和塘福泳滩亦有超过 90%的时间获评为「良好」等级。下长沙泳滩曾于五月上旬及八月上旬两次在大雨后被评为「极差」等级。银矿湾泳滩则曾在多雨的四月被评为「欠佳」或 「极差」等级,其水质自初夏开始改善,至泳季尾段达到「良好」等级。

[照片: 三星湾泳滩–逃离城市繁嚣的好去处]

西贡各泳滩的水质普遍适合游 泳,每周评级多为「良好」或 「一般」。清水湾第一湾泳滩、清水湾第二湾泳滩及银线湾泳滩曾被评为「极差」等级一至三 次,大部份在暴雨后发生。厦门湾泳滩的水质最佳,所有每周评级均为「良好」。

屯门区泳滩的水质与往年相若,其每周评级多为「良好」或「一般」。蝴蝶湾泳滩于七月曾三次因大雨被评为「极差」等级,后水质逐步改善,并自八月中维持在「一般」等级。

荃湾各泳滩水质普遍令人满意。马湾东湾泳滩徘徊在「良好」和「一般」等级。其余荃湾泳滩主要维持在「一般」等级,其中更生湾泳滩、海美湾泳滩及丽都湾泳滩于泳季尾段改善至「良好」等级。汀九湾泳滩则曾于八月中旬大雨后被评为「极差」等级一次。

[照片: 近年水质持续改善的更生湾泳滩]

水质趋势

香港泳滩的水质在过去七年均符合水质指标,水质适合游泳。水质指标达标率由1986年的74%(即39个泳滩中占29个)变为1997年的63%(41个泳滩中占26个),至2010年以来的100%(所有41个泳滩)。

1986,1997年及2016年宪报公布的泳滩全年级别比较

年份

符合水质指标

不符合水质指标

良好

一般

欠佳

极差

1986

23.1%(9)

51.3%(20)

17.9%(7)

7.7%(3)

1997

24.4% (10)

39.0% (16)

29.3% (12)

7.3% (3)

2016

43.9%(18)

56.1%(23)

-

-

( ) 泳滩数目

备注: 以上所有统计并不包括两个在1995年从宪报中剔除的泳滩

多个泳滩在八十年代因水质欠佳而关闭(如旧咖啡湾泳滩、青山湾泳滩和银矿湾泳滩)或濒临关闭(如中湾泳滩和浅水湾泳滩)。至九十年代中期,因人口增长(特别是在新市镇地区),水质达标率不断下降。在过去十多年,有赖政府执行环保法例、扩建污水渠网络、在全港(包括泳滩腹地)建设新的污水处理设施及推行「净化海港计划」,全港泳滩水质得以逐步改善。政府过去采取的主要改善措施撮录于下表。

自1986年开始实施泳滩监测计划以来主要的水质改善措施

1986年至1990

水质改善的泳滩
根据《废物处置(禽畜废物)规例》,推行禽畜废物管制计划。 大部分泳滩,特别是银矿湾泳滩
颁布划设南区水质管制区,以执行《水污染管制条例》。 南区泳滩

把南区泳滩受污染的雨水渠阻截及分流。

南区泳滩

1991年至1995

 
实施化学废物管制。 所有泳滩
颁布划设西北区水质管制区,以执行《水污染管制条例》。 屯门区泳滩
把受污染雨水渠的污水引离青山湾泳滩。 青山湾泳滩
为扫管笏和三圣邨敷设公共污水渠。 屯门区泳滩
赤柱污水处理厂启用。 赤柱正滩

1996年至2000

 
在所有水质管制区全面实施《水污染管制条例》。 所有泳滩
石澳污水隔滤厂启用,把石澳村受污染的雨水渠分流 。 石澳泳滩
完成南区污水收集整体计划的主要工程。 南区泳滩

新的2公里长望后石海底排污渠启用。

屯门区泳滩

2001年至2005

 
完成「净化海港计划」第一期。 大浪湾泳滩、石澳泳滩和石澳后滩泳滩
银线湾一带敷设公共污水渠。 线湾泳滩

深井污水处理厂全面运作。

荃灣沿岸的泳灘

2006年至2016

 
位于昂船洲污水处理厂的前期消毒设施启用。 湾区所有泳滩
把公共污水渠网络扩展至沿青山公路的泳滩腹地。 湾沿岸的泳滩

「净化海港计划」第二期甲设施全面运作。

荃湾沿岸的泳滩

透过政府努力采取消减污染措施,各区泳滩的水质在过去数年有显著改善,近年的水质持续达标。随着荃湾泳滩水质自2010年起大幅改善,现时全港宪报公布泳滩已经连续七年全面达至水质标准。

宪报公布泳滩在1997年至2016年符合水质指标百分比

[图表: 宪报公布泳滩在1997年至2016年符合水质指标百分比 ]

本报告亦包括过去31年宪报公布泳滩的水质趋势图,以显示期间的变化。泳滩监测计划的详细背景及详情,则可浏览环保署的香港水质资源中心专题网站 (http://wqrc.epd.gov.hk) 泳滩专题网站 (http://www.beachwq.gov.hk)这些网页/网站同时便利市民查阅自2000年起出版的泳滩年报及数据。

[照片: 泳滩上快乐嬉戏的小孩]

监测计划

环保署监测的泳滩

南区

西贡区

湾区

屯门区

离岛区

大埔区

深水湾
浅水湾
中湾
南湾
舂坎角
圣士提反湾
赤柱正滩
夏萍湾
龟背湾
石澳
石澳后滩
大浪湾


厦门湾
三星湾
银线湾
清水湾第一湾
清水湾第二湾
新桥**

马湾东湾
钓鱼湾
双仙湾
海美湾
更生湾
丽都湾
九湾
近水湾

蝴蝶湾
青山湾
加多利湾
旧咖啡湾
新咖啡湾
黄金

银矿湾
贝澳
下长沙
上长沙

长洲东湾
观音湾
圣爷湾

愉景湾**

龙尾**

**非刊宪泳滩

泳滩监测次数

泳滩

每月监测次数

泳季*

非泳季

全年开放的宪报公布泳滩**

最少三次

最少三次

其他宪报公布泳滩

最少三次

一次

非宪报公布泳滩

最少三次

一次

* 3月至10月
**清水湾第二湾、深水湾、黄金及银线湾泳滩

泳滩水质监测计划运作概要

[图片: 泳滩水质监测计划运作概要]

港泳滩的全年级别制度

级别

每百毫升大肠杆菌数量*

轻微疾病率**
(
每千名泳客感染个案)

符合水质指标

良好

<=24

不能验出

符合

一般

25-180

<=10

欠佳

181-610

11-15

不符合

极差

>610

>15

*以3月至10月泳季期间收集到的所有数据计算出的大肠杆菌几何平均值
**皮肤及肠胃病

港泳滩的每周等级制度

等级

泳滩水质

每百毫升大肠杆菌数量*

轻微疾病率**
(
每千名泳客感染个案)

一级

良好

<=24

不能验出

二级

一般

25-180

<=10

三级

欠佳

181-610

11-15

四级

极差

>610
或最近一次读数 >1,600

>15

*除另有阐释外,大肠杆菌数量是最近五次水样本的大肠杆菌几何平均值。
**皮肤及肠胃病

 2016年概览

2016年的香港宪报公布泳滩全年级别及大肠杆菌的泳季几何平均值

宪报公布的泳滩2016年全年级别概览

2016年香港各区开放的宪报公布泳滩的每周等级概览

南区的泳滩

西贡区的泳滩

荃湾区的泳滩

屯门区的泳滩

离岛区的泳滩

水质趋势

1986年至2016年宪报公布的泳滩全年级别

1986年及2016年宪报公布的泳滩全年级别比较

1997年至2016年各区宪报公布的泳滩大肠杆菌全年几何平均值

附录

附录甲 - 大肠杆菌含量的全年几何平均值 (1997 - 2016)

附录乙 - 2016年游客数目

附录丙 - 2016年宪报公布泳滩的物理化学水质参数

附录丁- 图片 - 泳滩水质趋势(1986-2016)

 

[返回页首]